Earlier, late this afternoon, my sis Xochi and I were talking on the phone, and I asked her if she finished watching this 80’s comedy she’d begun watching before I left her apartment the other night, because it looked like a good movie. She said that her older daughter got home from being with her other grandma and aunt, and that she saw the last 30 minutes of this movie with her, and was like, “Movies in the past really were better than modern movies”. I told my sister that I like plenty of old movies too, but there are plenty of great movies nowadays (with much better picture quality that don’t always overuse CGI that tends to be overdone at times nowadays).

This got me thinking of how people always seem to be nostalgic for the past. I guess it’s because, as we age, memories, music, movies, books, etc. may bring happy feelings of the past. People say things aren’t like they used to be, it’s not safe for children, anymore, etc., etc. And in some ways things aren’t as good, but there are many ways that the past DEFINITELY WASN’T BETTER. For example, I’d much rather live nowadays than in the Middle Ages as a serf, which from what I understand was pretty much like a slave. I’m more than certain that minorities, women, and the LGBT community should and would prefer the many civil rights we enjoy nowadays to living, say 100 or even 50 years ago. Last, but certainly not least, there’s been so much technological progress that has made our lives easier in the last 100 years alone, or better yet, in the whole 34 years I’ve been alive!

On this note, I’d like to say I’m quite happy with where I am now. I’m glad to be a child of the 80’s because yes it was a pretty cool decade and is fun to reflect on and fun to hear the music, which is old now. Most of the time, I don’t feel old, but now that we’re beginning to experience 90’s nostalgia, or at least it seems that way, at times that makes me feel kinda old.

Anyways, back to the topic of the past and how it’s overrated, I love reading about history, it was always one of my fave subjects, and at one time I thought I might like to major in history, but I’ve changed my mind, but enough about that. War is a constant problem and I don’t think it will go away any time soon since as I’ve stated in the past lots of money is made off of war. The Dark Ages, which if I’m not mistaken, is the period between the Ancient Roman Empire and the Early Middle Ages, sounds like a terrible time to have lived, with the constant warfare all over Europe, and the struggles and battles over territories. So, with all these thoughts in mind, and I know I’m starting to ramble, CHERISH THE HERE AND NOW.

